A really serious business guide.

IMAG1268-01
My little happiness-bunny touch on my client’s terribly inviting door

So, I’m a business owner. Yes, it’s all very exciting stuff. I’m super excited not to be working for wankers in suits (or wankers wearing anything, actually), and getting paid for something I’m crazy about helps too. There’s some things I’ve been learning along the way and I thought I’d share them with you all if, you know, you were curious about starting a business or something:
 

  1. YOU DON’T OWN ENOUGH STATIONERY!Β If you plan on working from home, you definitely need to take out shares in Staples. You need a whiteboard AS WELL AS a pin board, and all the associated accessories; you certainly don’t own enough coloured pens; you need some files; more coloured pens; and notebooks. Oh my god the notebooks. Buy loads of them (pretty ones, obviously), categorise them, and pray like hell you’ve taken the right one to the right meeting.
  2. People drive much slower than they did before you became a business owner.
  3. Working from home is THE BEST THING EVER! I’m managing to cram in puppy cuddles, naps, chocolate runs, and the occasional home-made mega lunch in and amongst getting actual work done. Awesome.
  4. Making it up as you go along is a valid business-running technique (I’ll keep you posted on how this works out for me long-term…)

For now folks, I’ll bid you adieu. Safe in the knowledge that I own more coloured pens than an over-populated primary school.

Leave a Reply

