Lessons from the gym

I just need to figure out a way of getting this stuff in the van...
I just need to figure out a way of getting this stuff in the van…

Hey lovely folks who read this blog. (I know. There’s maybe four of you. But I love you despite there being so few of you. More love to go around.) It’s been a while. What can I say? I’m working two jobs and trying not to get ridiculously fat. I’ll try to make it a good one.

I’ve been meaning to write on this topic for a while. The gym. It’s great really. I’ve mentioned it before – a place dedicated to fitness, how could that be so bad!? Except the ego and vanity spilling out of every mirror glance, backward cap and low neck vest.

Excuse my naivety; I’ve only been a ‘gym-goer’ for about six months or so and don’t feel a great sense of ‘belonging’ as yet, but I’ve never seen such a substantial amount of egotism in one place (except perhaps a trendy bar full of marketing types on a Friday night). There’s the guys checking themselves out in the mirrors, the girls fixing their hair between vague attempts at a stretch, and the incessant staring at one another. It’s a bit like a pit of animals preparing for some hectic mating ritual.

I care too much about what others think of me. It’s definitely a downfall, and my other half always tells me to try to not see the other gym-attendees and just focus on my workout. And I do, for the most part, but when I see someone wearing nothing but shorts and a gillet, it gets a bit much.

There’s always something to learn though folks! I’m attempting to use my gym sessions as a lesson in non-judgement, ahimsa as my yoga friends might call it. Non-violence, nonharming. Letting others be who they want to be (yep, despite the fact they’re wearing more make-up than you could fit in a decent-sized car boot), and being myself despite what others may think of me (a Freudian-type would probably tell you I’m just jealous…). It’s actually a really difficult lesson for me, and I think for a lot of us, but one we need to consider in situations such as these.

So, away with the ego, let’s throw some humility at gym-folk whilst they’re not looking and make it look like it wasn’t us.

Until next time, kind readers. Go be good to each other.

Leave a Reply

