Post 1 and All Things Sweet

To kick start my blogging process, I shall begin my foray into what inspires me the most when it comes to eating well. It’s something I’ll happily admit that I’m addicted to and, after a weekend of over doing it slightly, I’ve got cravings like the cookie monster in rehab. Yes, I’m about to start telling you how awful sugar is, so put down the biscuits and pay attention.

A little back story: a few years ago I could be found neck deep in a bowl of cake mixture, or surrounded by the wrappers of ridiculously large chocolate bars groaning in pain. Until a housemate of mine, rightfully disgusted by the sight of my face covered in chocolate, whimsically laughed at my pending diabetes-related future. This kick-started the realisation in my head that, of course, diabetes WAS in my future if I kept eating like I was. And, I thought, to have to tell any children I might come to have that mummy’s got diabetes because she couldn’t control her eating was ridiculous. So I tried to curb my habit, and I tried, and I tried, until I failed and bought a book. It turned out that the book I chose seemingly at random from a book shop in New Zealand was to change my life somewhat, so I thought I’d share it with you now. There are two in the series: Sweet Poison and The Sweet Poison Quit Plan by David Gillespie and I can’t speak of them highly enough (I shall add his website at the end of this post).

The book that provoked the throwing of cake in the bin
The book that provoked the throwing of cake in the bin

Sugar then? Well, I’m in the ‘evil sugar’ camp: it’s addictive; it makes you eat more of all foods; and it’s in everything from baby food to breakfast cereal (interesting scientific reports on the addictive properties of fructose: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0002822310006449 http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0149763407000589).

Specifically, we’re talking about fructose, which makes up exactly half of our table sugar (the other half is glucose which is what we generally know as ‘blood sugar’. Glucose is a product of photosynthesis and is vital for energy).

I’m not about to go into biological detail as to the specific effects that sugar has on us though, as the books I’ll recommend at the end do that in much more detail than I could. We, as humans, have evolved to learn that sweet foods are good for us (ripe fruit, honey) and so naturally we enjoy the taste. Gradually, sugar has become accessible to the masses and manufacturers soon became aware of its incredible ability to drive sales. We see it everywhere today, and I’ve found that abstinence from sweet delights is frowned upon and scorned.

For now I shall lead you to the book and the author that changed my opinion on food and hope that you find some inspiration through his words, if not my own!

http://davidgillespie.org/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Sweet-Poison-Quit-Plan/dp/0718179048

Leave a Reply

